Reading 30 Challenge: #1 – ‘If you Could see me now’ by Cecelia Ahern. Brings charm to your life.

IMG_3230
I visited a book fair and bought this book titled ‘If you could see me now’ by Cecelia Ahern.
When I began with the book, I had to push myself through the pages, hoping for something incredible to happen. The beginning chapters appeared really boring to me as I felt that the descriptions were being dragged on and the striking part was nowhere to be seen.
It was around chapter 33, that I finally found some story developing. (It took me days to reach this part) Soon I plunged myself into the book and could not stop flowing through the pages. It was a drastic shift in mood. The book I thought to be of no sense turned out be a real sense.
The moment I finished reading it. I realised it was an alleviating experience to read it. It indeed was! Everything I hated at first seemed to be significant now. It was then I apprehended that the early chapters did make great sense.
Its a story of a lady named Elizabeth who is struggling with life. Struggling with herself, rather. She has perfect professional life but falls short of happiness. It is Ivan (the invisible friend) who teaches her the lessons of happiness in a short span of time which she could not learn in the time period of 34 years.
Ivan teaches her to live!
And the way he does this is magical. Those moments are beautifully designed by Cecelia Ahern. One can easily relate oneself to Elizabeth and when she smiles, it makes the reader smile with her.

IMG_3240
The relationship between Elizabeth and her father, though not very explicit, in some manner leaves you speechless and there are moments when tears fill your eyes.

IMG_3237
We see Elizabeth beefing up reflecting a sense of evolvement in her, which is amazingly delineated by Cecelia Ahern. While Elizabeth grows, the reader travels along. This makes Cecelia Ahern special.

IMG_3235
Towards the last few chapters, one can not detach oneself from the book because it grips the reader and takes you to their world.
The climax is beautiful. Elizabeth’s art depicts the depth of every emotion and every drop of her paint dipped into life, colours the happiness with whom she had just fraternised herself.
Ivan, whose job is to teach people happiness and help them to live, happens to be devoid of it himself. He taught it to people because somewhere he himself was lacking in it and wished to complete it by befriending children. It is in the process of helping Elizabeth, that he himself learns to live.
Throughout the narrative, we find numerous life lessons embedded in it. One feels those lessons while reading it.

IMG_3236
My favourite part of the book is:

‘Ekam Eveileb’, was all she could say.
‘Yep’, Luke giggled. ‘It’s backwards language. Cool, isn’t it?’
It took Elizabeth seconds to work it out.
Make Believe.

IMG_3233

IMG_3239

Leave a Reply

